Which tool?

N

Nicole23

Hi All, please can you help me with the following.

I am building some alcove shelving in the chimney recesses of a lounge using battens for support that are boxed in with mdf. I have done one of the recesses but before I start the next one, I needed some advice.

The mdf cuts are slightly too big to fit in the recesses in places (by about 2-5mm). I had the same problem on the side that I have completed but used a random orbit sander that I had purchased the other week to fix this. However, this was quite fiddly and time consuming. Can you suggest a better tool for trimming a small amount of mdf from the edges? I have limited knowledge but thought a router might be appropriate, especially as it would be versatile for other projects. Other tools I thought about were a circular saw or a jigsaw. What do you think? Your help would be great :)

Sponsored Links
A small, cheap plane, or a surform plane will do this.

A router or other power tool is overkill

Circular saws and routers are extremely dangerous if you aren't competent in their use. A jig-saw is much safer and will be more use to you.

That's great, thanks. I want to buy something that will be handy in the future as I build up experience so the jigsaw sounds good unless anyone has any other views...

Sponsored Links
A jigsaw will do it, so will a hand saw, a hacksaw, a file, a stanley blade, and many other sharp things.

But the fact is, it is not the correct tool for doing this, and it will leave rough edges as the blade rips the surface, and this will need finishing with something else.

If you are building up experience, then don't start by getting into bad habits

only problem with a jigsaw is that when you buy it you have to put it together yourself :LOL:

half decent jigsaw a definate yes
several grades of sandpaper for your sander from smooth to course [240 to 40] would be helpfull