Widening The Loft Hole

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Sorry if my terminology isn't up to scratch but I'm a total DIY noob (20 yrs old and the height of my dad's DIY was sellotaping my bike brakes on as a kid!).

Anyway, mum wants to store stuff in the loft but the "loft hole" is barely big enough for me (slender) to climb inside. It's also just a hole with a peice of board sitting on top.

What I need to do is widen the hole and eventually construct some kind of stairs thing so we can pull it down and have some stairs up into the attic and push it back up when not in use.

What problems am I likely to encounter? Do I need to scan with one of those scanning deelees incase of pipes or wires? And then should I just take a saw and saw a big ole square shape in the ceiling? Are there any resources on the topic directed at my level?

Sponsored Links
Biggest prob is a Trussed roof construction :eek: don`t get that saw out yet.get the photo to the site.as Masona requested ;) DIY noob :?: :LOL:

That wasn't much fun! Our ladder only has three rungs so I had to improvise for the rest! Anyway, here's the recon;
Image1.jpg

Image2.jpg

Image3.jpg

Image4.jpg

Image5.jpg

Edit; how do you get the pictures to show?

Instead of this

Sponsored Links
That has the look of a traditional roof. What size are the timbers that you stand on (width x height) and how far apart are they?

Is it quite an old house?

username#132

Sorry if my terminology isn't up to scratch but I'm a total DIY noob (20 yrs old and the height of my dad's DIY was sellotaping my bike brakes on as a kid!).
Tell mum the job is to big for you to do & get an expert to give you a quote.

Aww, spoilsport! Mum couldn't afford to have it done proffesionally, so if I don't do it, it wont be done at all. I'm not in any rush. I've got a year or more to do this but I would appreciate the learnin' and reduced expense of being able to do this myself.