Will this chime/setup work without modification for a ring doorbell?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I’m a total beginner when it comes to anything wiring related but giving this a try! Basically I was wondering from the below pictures if my ring doorbell (2nd gen) would work with my existing setup? I’d like to hardwire it and use a mechanical chime so that if the wifi goes down everything still works.

IMG-20220522-093712-2.jpg

IMG-20220522-093931-2.jpg

IMG-20220522-093952-2.jpg

From the above pictures it looks like the black box near the RCD is a Friedland 752 transformer but I'm not sure if I would need to replace this and the chime?

Thanks for any help!

Sponsored Links
That transformer will probably work with a Ring doorbell.
Whether the existing chime does depends on which of the many versions of Ring you get, which version of the software it's using and whether that particular chime is compatible with it.
Some can theoretically control an existing old chime. Others don't have that capability at all and require the nonsense of installing a 'bypass connector' which leaves the existing chime in place but not connected.

The summary of a long and tiresome story is that if you want a Ring doorbell to work as described, you remove all existing wiring, chimes, transformers and anything else. Forget about using it with any existing equipment.
You then buy and install the Ring doorbell, the Ring power supply, and optionally the plug in chime unit. The end.

Ah that's unfortunate - I guess the two reasons for using the existing setup/chime is that a) my wifi can be flaky and b) if ring decides to one day stop supporting the device (which they will) then I'm not locked into upgrading.

That transformer will probably work with a Ring doorbell.
Whether the existing chime does depends on which of the many versions of Ring you get, which version of the software it's using and whether that particular chime is compatible with it.