Wireless door chime fail

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by fickleninkel, 24 Apr 2012.

  1. fickleninkel

    fickleninkel

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought a siemens wireless door chime, tested it, worked ok, fitted it and noticed it was at best intermittent.

    Took it back to BnQ and it worked flawlessly

    Bought it back here, wont work flawlessly

    I guess something is interfering as my car remote is shorter range at home too

    Tried turning off all flourescent (energy saver) lights
    Turned off my wifi (i have 2.4 and 5 GHz)
    Turned off digisender

    I'm at a loss now. Maybe one of my neighbours is a pirate radio station?

    Any ideas anyone? I cant find the manual for the alarm :(
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. riveralt

    riveralt

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    4,020
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They normally give you half a dozen bands to avoid interference have you tried the other bands.
    They need to match both on the main box and the sender (bell push).
    Suprised B&Q didn't tell you this.
     
  4. wingcoax

    wingcoax

    Joined:
    1 Mar 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Thanks Received:
    158
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the button mounted on PVCU door frame? At the bottom of instructions it usually warns you not to mount on pvcu. You only find this when you have opened packaging.
     
  5. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Foil backed plasterboard?
    Other items on the same frequency?
    Are there any dip switches there? Try changing them ( both the same of course).
     
  6. fickleninkel

    fickleninkel

    Joined:
    24 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm, it was mounted near the lock (over hole if old wired one), moving it down below that seems to have worked

    Very poor range.

    And no, its a wooden door
     
  7. phatboy

    phatboy

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    2,197
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Location:
    Jersey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have the same doorbell, purchased from B&Q. The button and receiver are about 2 meters apart, and the button covers the position of the old wired doorbell.

    Mine is working fine, through a 2 block wall with insulation between. My wireless (2.4GHz) router is also very close by.

    Strange that moving your bell down a bit resolved it!

    You probably know but if you turn the receiver off, within a minute or 2 of turning it back on you must press the doorbell button, or it won't work at all!
     
  8. Alarm

    Alarm

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    8,965
    Thanks Received:
    532
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The lock was acting as a shield.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page