Wiring disaster behind a hall rose

Xan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Last week we had our hallway re-plastered and the old rose was simply loosened to get behind and not really looked inside.

Today I popped to the shop and got 2 new roses for both the hall lights (there is 1 top, 1 bottom, controlled by a 2 way switch top and bottom also).

In my ignorance I committed the cardinal sin and didn't take note of where the wires where originally (too be fair to myself some where just twisted together and not even screwed into anything, just left loose inside the rose that shorted out the whole upstairs lighting during the re-plastering).

Anyway I'm no electrician but I've done my best to guess which wire was the switch and which were part of the main loop.

After some swearing and scratched fingers later trying to wrestle the old stiff wires into their new home I turned the power back on, popped the bulb in and turned the light on. that just created sparks from the rose but nothing blew.

This is what I ended up with (apologies for the size, but at least you get a clearer view than i had when working on it :p ):

033.JPG

I assumed the red and black from the white sheath were the switch (thus the earth hadn't been tied in from that previously... I hoped).

I know it's not much to work with, all the wires are in a cavity space that is freshly plastered over and can't be accessed any other way. House was built around 1890, so it could certainly do with a full rewiring, but we just can't afford that and need to make do with things as is.

From what I can see the bottom light only has a single wire running into the rose. Would that mean another live and neutral that are grouped together with the main bunch should be moved out with the switch?