1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiring Hive to ideal combi boiler

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Sarah F, 28 Dec 2019.

  1. Sarah F

    Sarah F

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I am wiring a new Hive system to my Ideal combi boiler. Our house has two thermostats, downstairs (that we want to use with the Hive) & upstairs (that will remain a wired thermostat).

    I have wired in parallel the Hive receiver across the thermostat terminals and disconnected the old downstairs thermostat. The boiler does not put on the heating. I have T1 to 1 side of room stat connections and T3 across the other.

    Any help will be appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Sarah, a little more information please:

    1. What thermostat was there previously?
    2. The receiver needs a permanent live and neutral - doesn’t sound like you’ve provided this, hence why nothing will work
    3. Any photos of installation of hive receiver?
    4. Which hive have you purchased? - single or dual channel?
    Thanks.
     
  4. Sarah F

    Sarah F

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for coming back to me, sorry I should have said that there is a live & neutral.
     
  5. Sarah F

    Sarah F

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Previous thermostat was a Danfuss.
     
  6. Sarah F

    Sarah F

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have access to an electrical tester or multimeter? If so check for voltage between neutral and 1 and 3, you may have the wires the wrong way around.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Sarah F

    Sarah F

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is 246v between 1 and neutral and 46v between 3 and neutral?
     
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    21,431
    Thanks Received:
    8,356
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you will have a wiring centre that the zone valves are wired into, open the cover with the power off and post a pic of what you have there
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,547
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don’t think you should be getting 46v at terminal 3, should be 15 or less. Should only get voltage when switched. As per @ianmcd try photo of the wiring centre. If you have 2 thermostats then surely it must be zoned?
     
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page