Wood burner heating system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all. Firstly let me explain a bit about whats going on. I am a electrician and have just bought a new house (new to me, it was built in the 1940's). We havnt moved in yet, hopefully all signed and sealed and completed in 6 weeks time!

Currently the house has central heating run off a gas fire in the living room with a back boiler. The hot water cylinder is directly above this on the first floor in the airing cupboard. I am not sure (cant remember/didnt really look) but presume it is an indirect cylinder, and it is a vented system currently.

What I want to do is fit a wood burner in the lounge with a back boiler (logs are free for me!) and let that run all my DHW and CH. I would also like to have a gas boiler installed so that if I am away and the mrs doesnt want the hassle of lighting the fire etc etc then she can push a button and use the gas boiler.

I was wondering what the possible options for doing this are? Could I:

1. Use the existing cylinder and use the wood burner to heat the cylinder via the coil and have a normally open valve so if theres a power failure it dumps heat to a radiator. Then have a cylinder stat so once the cylinder is up to temperature it can open a valve to heat radiators if the room stat is calling for heat? Not sure how a gas boiler would be coupled up to this system?)

2. Have a twin coil cylinder and use the wood burner on one coil and the gas boiler on the second coil?

I will get a plumber mate of mine to do any gas works and other certifiable work, and will obviously seek his advice too, but want to know a bit about what I am thinking first really. All work I can do myself like installing pipes etc, I will do as I am pretty competant with a blow torch and have some common sense!

Thanks for your help! Chris

Sponsored Links