Wood burning stove with back boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would be grateful if anyone could offer their advice or thoughts on the following:-

We bought a house which had a Dunsley Highlander 8 stove with central heating boiler fitted. This was connected to a series of pipes and a hot water cylinder.

My question is, can I use this stove not connected to a heating system so in effect as a stand alone wood burner? If so is this a matter of refitting or does the boiler need to be deactivated in any way and how can this be done?

In its current state the stove has 4 protruding pipes to the rear.

Thanks
[/quote]

Sponsored Links
Looking at their MI, I would say no, it can't be disconnected and only used as a stove, given the boiler characteristics but I'm not a stove expert. Happy to be corrected by a expert in these systems.

That would be my interpretation of the manual too - couldn't copy and paste but note the part that says it is essential to have a permanent means of dissipating heat from the boiler. If the boiler was empty this would not be the case.

Again, not a stove expert though.

Sponsored Links
I would suspect using an appliance such as this without the correct water content would be dangerous. It relies on the water in the system to dissipate heat, if insufficient water is available then the heat produced cannot be effectively removed from the appliance.

At best it could cause the appliance to crack or split, at worst shatter or explode. (As an example, running with insufficient coolant (or overheating) an internal combustion engine with a cast cylinder head usually results in a scrap head due to cracking.....)

For certainty check with Dunsley, but I suspect they'll echo what has been already said. Is there a reason you do not wish to use the output from the stove for the CH and/or HW systems?