Wood joist spacing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello everyone,

I'm an amateur builder. We have an outbuilding which I'd like to build a floating level for a little office space. Is it ok to build like this:

image.jpg

Could get some RSJ's but they are a hassle to get, handle, install. Wood's much easier. Span on 75 x 225 is around 5m

thanks / simon

Sponsored Links
A bit confused?

Are you looking at the floor joist supports or the joists themselves?

I doubt that you will find a timber deep enough to support an entire floor at that span. Steel would be more practical.

You floor joists (63mm x 175mm) may be ok though at 400mm c/c.

Yeah, you won't get a standard size timber section to span 5m with that load on it.

A couple of steels would be the sensible option. You might get a couple of engineered joists that would be strong enough...
Or if possible put another post underneath and reduce the span.

The 63 x 175s would be OK though

Sponsored Links
PS somewhere on the internet I found a table giving the various standard joist sizes and the appropriate max span for each, but I can't find it. I'll keep Googling a little to see if I can chance upon it again. (The building regs refer to the British Standards and equivalent, which are not freely available online).

His floor joists are probably OK (assuming normal domestic-level loading). But he needs guidance on the main 5m - long support beams, and that won't be found in any of the usual tables.

As advised, timber would be impractical here, so steel would be required. For that he would need calcs from an SE.

how utterly stupid of me.

If steel we're to be used (6m span), what cross section would be needed? (I or C section). This floating level is just for 3 or 4 people to be up there at any one time.

Perhaps I should pay an engineer to calculate this.

room below will have 3 desks on each wall. will disguise the centre columns as a book case in the middle.