Wooden flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Members

I am a newbie so I might have posted this in wrong place please correct me if it is so.
I have asked a builder to do wooden flooring in my bedroom and living room but after doing the living room there are huge gaps appearing between the tiles. He says that the floor is uneven and there is nothing he can do and he tried to tighten it as much as he could but cant do anything anymore. In the end what he did was filled it with some sealant and now in just a week the sealant is coming off and the spacing is almost 2mm which is looking really odd, he still has to do the living room so was wondering if someone could help me with this, is this right that coz of uneven floor boards the final result could be that bad. I dont know if I can post the pics of it here or no but if you can tell me how to I could do that now.

Sponsored Links
Real wood floor, engineered or laminate,? all require a fairly even subfloor, if you don't have one then it would need sheet ply to level it before anything is laid on it.

Thank you so much for your reply, the builder has not put anything and did not suggest this either or we were not even told about the floor board not being ok till we saw the wooden flooring with huge gaps in between them.
Its solid wood flooring and after that is on the floor it looks so ugly, what are my alternatives?
I still have not done the living so I can make the ammends there, sorry I am new to DIY so have no knowledge what so ever.

Thank you so much for your reply, the builder has not put anything and did not suggest this either or we were not even told about the floor board not being ok till we saw the wooden flooring with huge gaps in between them.
Its solid wood flooring and after that is on the floor it looks so ugly, what are my alternatives?
I still have not done the living so I can make the ammends there, sorry I am new to DIY so have no knowledge what so ever.

Sponsored Links
Hi Foxhole