wooden flooring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello lads.

About to lay solid wood flooring on vinyl tiles which are on top of concrete.
1. Is pine flooring ok.
2. I'm laying battens, can i glue (grip fill) or do i need to drill into the concrete to get a fix.

3. Whats the mininium dimensions of the battens as the higher i raise the floor the more the problems with the doors.

4.Rather not use beading around the edges, can i rout the skirtings and architraves.
thanks

Sponsored Links
I have layed a solid tongue and grooved wood floor and used 3mm Elastilon adhesive foam backing no nails no glue seems to have worked fine been layed for about 6 mths minimal joint movement.

No, harm intended-i'm a plasterer by trade and we dont get many women in the trade.lads and lasses welcome!

Sponsored Links
Well, if your underfloor (including the tiles) is level there is no need to place battens first (waste of materials, money and effort), you can install the floor floating (glueing the T&G's)
Be sure you then use an underlayment that contains a DPM to prevent sweating of the vinyl tiles effecting the wood.

Suppose i was being over cautious regards battens,would you recommend pine or am i looking for prolems regarding shrinkage and splitting,i intend varnishing.
thanks.

Can't really advice you there I'm afraid: no experience with proper pine floorboards, we're into hardwood flooring ;)
Only thing I can say is because pine is softwood, you will get dents and small damages earlier on pine than on Oak or most other hardwood floors