worcester 24i lpg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Alright .....found some thing out today worcester 24i was constantly sparking after the boiler had fired tried every thing ..ie(flame rectification..P.C.B thermister..the problem was crossed polarity on a fuse spur in the kitchen so lads watch out for this.....cos it got me..

Sponsored Links
I'm a newbie but i always check the fuse then the polarity, but thats only because i'm not allowed to check anything else.

Is flame rectification on a fan flued appliance needed if the fan is acting as the saftey device to the gas valve? (this is a question).

bster said:
I'm a newbie but i always check the fuse then the polarity, but thats only because i'm not allowed to check anything else.

Is flame rectification on a fan flued appliance needed if the fan is acting as the saftey device to the gas valve? (this is a question).
the flame sensor detects the flame and sends a message to the pcb to keep the gas valve open????

so flame rectification would be used instead of an air pressure switch not with one - am i correct or out of my depth?

I've been working with gas for around 12months (as an apprentice) so forgive any silly questions to more experianced people (yourself).

cheers

Sponsored Links
so flame rectification would be used instead of an air pressure switch not with one
Different purpose.
The APS checks that the fan's running, the FR checks that the gas is lit. So one doesn't affect the other.
Boilers without APS's have some other means of checking whether the fan's running. Back with ye olde Lynx is was a hot wire which got cooled down, now the electronics senses signals coming back from the fan itself. There have been other boilers with some other means, like thermostats.

The air pressure switch is only used to detect if the fan is running and the flue is not blocked.