Worcester Fan Assembly

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All....

I have a worcester 24i combi. The other day it started to make a noise from the top part of the boiler, a very faint grinding sound. I had a look at the fan assembly and it all seemed to move freely and looked ok (but I am no expert :confused: ). It still continued to work fine after that, although the sound was still there but very very faint.
Until this morning. :cry: The boiler will not fire up at all and I cannot even hear the fan moving. I took another look and now the fan does not spin as freely as it did the other day. The fan is very stiff and difficult to move by hand.
I have looked at some places on the internet and these can be bought for about £50. The part number is 8-716-146-459.

Now my question is,
1, Is there a simple fix I can do ? (probably not)
2, Am I barking up the wrong tree and it could be something else knackered ?
3, Does the price sound right for a fan assembly ?

Thankyou in advance. :)

Sponsored Links
It sounds far too cheap for a genuine new manufacturer's spare part!

Its pretty easy to change but should be done by a competent person who is usually a CORGI.

If you lubricate each bearing with motor car engine oil it will keep you going over Christmas. Just dont use WD40 !

Tony

If the fan is seized then its fairly obvious this is the fault. To confirm is there 240v at the fan?

£50 soiunds quite cheap although i have bought a fan for a microgenus from HRPC for £27.

Sponsored Links
24i fan is 8-716-120-993-0 and srp of 62.54
24i junior is 8-716-105-652-0 and srp of 50.03

Can't find anything with the worc part number you have.

Thanks everyone for your help :D

Lubricating it has done the trick. The bottom bearing was really stiff once pressure was put on it. At the top of the fan is a spring, if I left the spring off, it spun fine. With the spring on, it went stiff. A few drops of oil and the whole thing is running fine, no noise at all :p