Worktop edges with a router, what guide required?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I need to shorten several 38mm square edge laminate worktops and apply edging strips. I understand a router is the best way to get the cleanest edge finish without chipping (cutting the worktop first and then using a router to remove the final few mm's).

The only problem is I've never used a router before... what sort of guide would I need to achieve a straight edge and could this be done by a router novice?

Obviously I'd aim to have a few test runs first. Presumably I can't clamp a spirit level in place at 90 degrees and use that...?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
The only problem is I've never used a router before... what sort of guide would I need to achieve a straight edge and could this be done by a router novice?

Obviously I'd aim to have a few test runs first. Presumably I can't clamp a spirit level in place at 90 degrees and use that...?