Would an even wall need sanding?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys my newly plastered walls are even however when you rub your hands across the wall the texture varies from very smooth to a medium rough.

To the naked eye it looks normal but when you rub your hand across you can feel the differences. I was wondering whether I could get away with two mist coats and one fine coat of paint which would cover the slightly rougher patches or would i need to sand down all the walls to get them fluent

I dont mind sanding all the walls down as it only takes 120 grit to make it all the same but I would prefer to save a day or two if this is not necessary.

cheers

Sponsored Links
get the mist coat on, if it feels rough use a scraper and knock off any big lumps (cafefully) put the next coat on, if it still feels rough, gently rub it down........ ps im not a pro just a diy enthusiast

Andy

hi Andy thank you for the reply matey,

I was thinking of a mist coat first but im wondering whether i will be wasting time and to be on the safe side whether it is better to give a quick 120 grit rub down instead?

sanding new vinyl emulsion is difficult as it is inclined to peel.

Sponsored Links
John, funny you say that as recently at our other business premises some freshly plastered walls had a single layer of emulsion and some peeled off after someone removed a poster. I tried sanding it down and more started peeling

1) get a new plaster

2) spend two days sanding

3) lining paper

4) matt finnish hides a multitude of sins

5) remember that when you are so close and involved you identify every blemish, when the paint is on and you are relaxing with a glass of wine, no one will know or care

LOL

To be fair the plaster is very nice in the sense its bang on straight etc but is just rough here and there. Not one of those things which you can go around and sand patches as it would be as time consuming as doing the whole wall anyway.