Zanussi ZWT71201WA washer dryer problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone. My washer dryer has broken down and been fixed a few times, and is now broken again. The engineer last time told us it's because we don't use the dryer - it corrodes and messes up the electrics. The dryer is so useless we just don't bother using it. I've researched it a bit and it seems to be a common problem with these washer dryers, and I've seen people recommend just disconnecting the dryer part. I'd like to try this as the machine seems to be fine otherwise. Can anyone talk me through this as a complete newbie or would you not recommend it?

From what I can gather online the metal part in the middle that goes from top to bottom is the dryer part I have to disconnect. I read it was the 4 wires at the top. I'm just unsure now what to do next as there are lots of wires. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
IMG_20200925_113813.jpg
IMG_20200925_1139361.jpg

Sponsored Links
The three black wires and the one white wire that go to the white connector are the dryer element wires. Disconnect at the white connector block.

Two of the black wires go into one of two small white connectors to the right of the big white connector (just above the one with the grey wire coming out of it). I've disconnected the big connector and the little one, is that safe? It seems to be turning on ok now and display working but not sure if it's safe.

You could put some insulating tape over any connector ends just in case. The three black and one white wire coming from the back of the heater box are the connections for the double dryer element, once taken out of circuit the machine should work as a washing machine.

Sponsored Links
Thank you very much for your help assuhors, it's working perfectly now.