Zinsser bullseye 123 plus (moved from Projects)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I am new to this but felt I should share my problem with bullseye 123 plus.I carefully read all information on this product and felt it was the best for my job,this being changing a dark oak varnish stain to magnolia satin finnish.
I followed all instructions,sanded down with 180 then 240 cleaned all surfaces,then applied the product,all seemed well.Gave a second coat 3-4 hours later,found this seemed to cause the first coat to cause slightly thicker patches but thought nothing of it,then painted two top coats of satin wood.
I now have a problem,the paintwork is sticky to touch 4 weeks later,paintwork that suffered marking from furniture moving just peels away from the woodwork,there has been no keying of this product to the surface,I have done 8 doors and 8 rooms with this product all of which are the same.
I have contacted zinsser who firstly told me the product was not suitable even though it says so on the tin then they said there was no problem with the product implying the fault was mine,they have asked me to send paint samples peeled from the doors for them to analyse but I don't expect they will actually bother.
I have spent the last seven weekends painting in readiness for my new carpets,I now feel sick,the time ,the effort have all been worthless and now it all has to be removed,I cannot cope with that thought.
I have the empty tin so thought I would do my own experiment as I feel there is something wrong with the product,I put some water on my finger and rubbed the dried primer and it came off turning back to a liquid.I have also painted the remaining doors with a new tin of bullseye 123,this has gone on as expected is not removed when rubbed with a wet cloth and finished paintwork is set as expected.