Painting windows

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

After 15hrs of solid graft i have managed to strip my spare room window back to the bare wood. I will not be doing this to the other windows but instead heed advice and sand them back.

Can someone advise on what I should do next - do I need to prime the wood? How many coats will I need - do I need to sand in between? I want to use a matt/silk finish - are there any issues with this?

Also as I am not completely stripping the other windows back - will I have problems in matching the windows?

Any help you can give to a complete novice would be gratefully received.

Cheers

Tony

Sponsored Links
You will need to prime the windows but knot them first with knotitng solution.

Then prime

Fill

Rub down

Undercoat

Rub down lightly between each coat

As for the finish paint...you mention matt/silk..they are emulsions ans not a good idea

However, you can get an oil based matt, eggshell or sating (which is slightly more shinier than eggshell) finish

I'd stick to one of those

Hi Zampa,

Many thanks for that. The windows are orginial in a 1930's house - will they still need knotting??

If I was to choose the oil based satin - on my other windows, can I just rub them down lightly and fill. Will there be any issues with using this paint on top of an existing paint?

Cheers

Tony

Yep..knots can lose resin for years.

Regards the others, you can either rub em down then fill, under/first coat and second coat

Or rub em down, undercoat, fill then two top coats

I would rather fill on undercoat than old gloss because the filler sticks better

One that...use a decent filler Touptret is very good for adhearing to paint

Tetrion isnt and its also very grainy

Sponsored Links
You will need to prime the windows but knot them first with knotitng solutionThen prime
Fill
Rub down
Undercoat
Rub down lightly between each coat
As for the finish paint...you mention matt/silk..they are emulsions ans not a good idea