15mm or 22mm pipe for gas suppy

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all
We are in the process of getting central heating installed by Warmfront as my wife is disabled. They have said that they need to replace the current 15mm gas pipe that supplies the instant gas water heater and cooker at the back of the house with a new 22mm supply. The difficulty is running a new pipe from the front of the house to the back via lifting all the floor boards on the first floor. Is this really necessary or is this just a contractor creating work to get to the £2700 government grant amount.

Replace pipe front to back, new combi boiler and 5 radiators
Strangely their quote has come in at almost exactly £2700.

Any thoughts welcome

T

Sponsored Links
The gas supply will need to be at least 22mm, possibly more, given that the combi and gas meter are at opposite ends of the house.

I am not a gas engineer, and hopefully one of the RGI's here will be able to give a more detailed answer.

It depends on a few factors really. As a minimum the gas pipe will need to be run in 22mm (some cases it may need to be 28mm) to within 3 metres of the boiler. This is to enable the correct boiler inlet pressure of at least 20mbar.

Ryan

As an absolute minimum the supply will have to be run in AT LEAST 22mm ALL THE WAY to the boiler!

Tony

Sponsored Links
... As a minimum the gas pipe will need to be run in 22mm (some cases it may need to be 28mm) to within 3 metres of the boiler. This is to enable the correct boiler inlet pressure of at least 20mbar.

Ryan

A 3 metre length of 15 mm will NEVER give you 20 mbar on a combi.
I would suggest that if you are not a RGI, you refrain from giving advice on gaswork.

Though I consider warmfront a complete scam, the bit about replacing the 15 mm is actually correct.