2 bathrooms, 1 kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m a novice DIYer re-doing my 2 bed basement flat (Victorian mansion block conversion). Major items on the refurb – expanding the kitchen, adding a couple of en-suite bathrooms, refurbing two bedrooms, carving up the hallway and doing some landscaping to the garden. I reckon this is a 6-month project and I’m into month 1.

F**k of a lot harder that I was expecting…

I’ll be posting here to keep a log of my progress, but also to inform all the questions that I’ll be asking on the forums

First things first, here is the layout when I started:

View media item 58207
Tiny kitchen, open plan hall and dining room. One bathroom with separate loo (with no wash basin) that opens directly into hall. Wasted boiler room next to master bed being used for immersion tank and misc storage. Unused walk-in closet. Excessively large hallway

And here is what I want it to be:

View media item 58208

Expand kitchen into dining/hall, erect stud wall to separate. Convert bolier room/storage into master bed's ensuite bath. Convert existing bath to bed 2's ensuite w/ shower. Add storage/coatroom to hall so guest WC doesn't open directly into hall. Move doors to master and 2nd bed

Sponsored Links
So, beginning at the beginning..

This last month has been the concentrated on expanding the tiny kitchen into the adjacent dining room/hallway and sticking up a stud wall with double doors to separate it from hall/front door.

Documented progress – didn’t take any full-scale pics of it before starting but…

Ripped up the s***ty laminate flooring – one of those temp jobs that’s been there for 15 years… Under the laminate – mouldy carpet.

View media item 58178
Carpet comes up. Damp looking screed.

View media item 58179