25a Appliance on Unfused Spur off 2.5mm ring final with 32a RCBO

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
I know ideally it should have a dedicated radial 25a rcbo/mcb in the board but wondering how bad it would be to run a spur off the existing ring. Instructions say "over current 25a" and you can see the plate (and what the device is) below....

Attachments

• IMG_20230616_232815.jpg
    IMG_20230616_232815.jpg
    476.7 KB · Views: 135
13 amp max spur from a ring main, its supposed to be evenly loaded sticking 25 amps on one point may overload a leg.

See appendix 15 of bs7671, recommended items over 2kw have there own circuit

Thats not a 25 amp appliance its 9 amps, even so it need it's own supply if you want to do a proper job

Thanks a lot for the reply. I haven't got the full bs7671 and I'm not an electrician (hence asking on DIY site) but I do have the on site guide 2018 which in section H2.4 doesn't seem to say unfused spurs are limited to 13a ? Although section H2.5 does talk about it.

The plate seems to suggest the average usage is 9A but could peak a lot higher (presumably why the instructions talk about 25A over current)

I dunno bit of a nightmare if I have to run cable round the building just for this.

Ahhh hang on. Yes as you say its 9A - the other figures are output. So this could be put on a 13A fused spur I believe? Although strange why the insutrctions talk about 25A over current.

Thanks a lot for the reply. I haven't got the full bs7671 and I'm not an electrician (hence asking on DIY site) but I do have the on site guide 2018 which in section H2.4 doesn't seem to say unfused spurs are limited to 13a ? Although section H2.5 does talk about it.

The plate seems to suggest the average usage is 9A but could peak a lot higher (presumably why the instructions talk about 25A over current)

I dunno bit of a nightmare if I have to run cable round the building just for this.