3 Phase Supply Conversion - Needed or OTT

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all
Im in the process of getting a new drive layed. Its a long story but desperately waiting for the guy to come back any time now. Anyway recently been looking at plugin hybrids as the missus needs a new car and that led on to upgrading the supply comming into the house and some fast chargers need 3 phase

Im new to all this so please correct me - havnt got a clue really

I know a colleague in work recently had a 3 phase put in (and I did wonder why when he mentioned it) at home at a cost of around 6K. I havent got that money for it and right now I have no need of three phase at all but as this drive is totally up..... now would be the time to lay a conduit possibly just in case

I dont know - would that be a good idea do you think. I think the duct has to be 450mm down but I am not 100% sure - national grid wernt that great when I called them earlier

I dont fancy digging another trench but if Im going to do it now would be a good time I suppose or is it pointless in the home environment
Thanks for any advice

Sponsored Links
Single phase AC charging in Europe (it seems to go higher in the USA) seems to have a max of 7kW . Three phase charging can support 11kW or 22kW charging modes.

However, many cars don't support these modes, a plugin hybrid is especially unlikely to do so. Also even if the car does support it, for domestic charging there is little point. 7kW is enough to fully charge almost any electric passenger car overnight.

I know a colleague in work recently had a 3 phase put in (and I did wonder why when he mentioned it) at home at a cost of around 6K. I havent got that money for it and right now I have no need of three phase at all but as this drive is totally up..... now would be the time to lay a conduit possibly just in case