3way switching conversion with 2gang 2way dimmers

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hope someone can help. I am upgrading the lights in my bedroom. Currently its a single bulb, and a single on/off switch. I'm going to replace the existing light with 5 spots, and add another 'circuit' of 2 spots - giving a total of 7 spotlights. I'm trying to wire connections so that both circuits can be controlled from 3 separate places of the room - dimmers either side of the bed, and another from the existing light switch when you enter the room. Ideally I'd end up with double dimmers switches (dial type) in three separate places controlling the two circuits.

I'm having difficulty with wiring the two circuits, and finding the right components. The problem may be with my idea on how to do this. I have some experience with wiring. I'm looking at the cheapest and easiest way of doing this.

Am i right in thinking that I need to wire two 2gang 2way dimmer switches, and one 2gang 2way intermediate dimmer switch?

If so - can someone help with how to wire these correctly, and also information on where can i purchase white rotary dimmers of both these types?

cheers
David

Sponsored Links
No such thing as an intermediate dimmer, also you cannot use 2 conventional dimmers as 2 way. You can however get a master and slave dimmer arrangement such as: clicky, for the full range look at iQ Remote / Touch Control here.
What sort of spotlights are you looking to install and what are their ratings?

Many thanks Spark123. The spots are from B&Q - halogen - one set of 2 are 20w, the other set of 5 or so are also 20w. Cant find a link - GU?? - but they do not need transformers they come in packs of 3 or 5 and you wire them straight into the lighting circuit.

Would I need to wire the new circuit into the old switch, and replace that switch with a master 2g 2w dimmer, then wire in two slaves for the other parts of the room? What would the slave switches be wired into?