4 Core Flat Grey Cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Found a short length of this in the back of the old shed yesterday whilst having a clear out and haven't a clue where it's come from or what it would have been used for.

It as the normal red,blue and bare earth wire plus a yellow wire and at first when I picked it up I thought it was 2.5mm twin & earth.

Can anyone educate me as to what it is and what it is used for please?

Sponsored Links
Or what? Does 3 Phase have a bare earth? Does it come in a flat sheathed covering? I thought 3 Phase was three cables and a neutral. Add an earth and that's 5 wires. I honestly don't know as I'm not an electrician but I have seen that wire in my own house when changing two-way light switches. Perhaps an electrician can shed some light on this?

Sponsored Links
Or what? Does 3 Phase have a bare earth? Does it come in a flat sheathed covering? I thought 3 Phase was three cables and a neutral. Add an earth and that's 5 wires. I honestly don't know as I'm not an electrician but I have seen that wire in my own house when changing two-way light switches. Perhaps an electrician can shed some light on this?
3C&E is used in many situations where 3 wires and earth is required such as but certainly not limited to:
2 way switching,
PIR wiring,
3 phase, (when neutral is not required which is fairly frequent), this is probably why the cables do not include a neutral colour?
Heating systems (thermostats, motorised valves, boiler),
2 1gang switches,
Bathroom extractor fan,
Smoke detectors,

The list is endless, especially outside of the domestic scene.

...It as the normal red,blue and bare earth wire plus a yellow wire...

Red yellow & blue is the 'old' 3 phase cable colours, the neutral would be black if this cable had one. FYI the new EU compliant colours are brown black & grey with blue as the neutral.

I wonder why many people don't like the new colours!!