Abergas HTM boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Does anyone remember this boiler? It was the conventional type (not a combi). We had one in our house where I grew up, I would guess it was installed circa 1968. I remember it being a noisy thing when running, and had a peculiar flue terminal outside, a rectangular affair which exhausted at the top front, and drew air in at the base. It was becoming a mission to keep alive during the winter of 1982/83 before we moved. The engineer left Dad a couple of what I now presume were some kind of circuit boards, (with an ignition lead attached?), to fit if it started playing up. (Which by that stage was quite frequently....)

I'm curious if anyone knows anything about them please? It seemed to be totally different to anything else we worked on during the late 80's when I was an apprentice. Never seen or heard of another, pretty sure they were obselete by 1982. Any info appreciated. :D

Sponsored Links
I can remember them and they are completely obsolete as far as I know.They had a heat exchanger the inside of which looked like 100's of ball bearings welded together.That's the only way I can explain it.They used to fall apart easily and I don't think the company ever recovered from that.That took me back to my apprentice days in the late 60's. :D

Cheers! It was obselete in '82 AFAIK, dad was hoping it lasted until we moved out so he didnt have to fork out to replace it on top of moving costs.... (Always been a tight git unless it involved a new car or computer for himself....)

Used to have major problems with the wind blowing the burner out, a steel bucket with the bottom rotted out was wedged over the flue as a rudimentary draught diverter.....