Abrasive council control inspector

As I understand it any cladding on a building (less than 11m high) but within 1m of a boundary should achieve a Class B-s3, d2(2) or better, that's not it's fire containment from within but it's ability to resist fire on the outside. Sure, perhaps some common sense/leeway could be applied, the boundary looks pretty innocent however there's nothing ironic about it, your designer should have thought about this long ago, it's them who should be feeling the toe of your kick not BC.

Well it's not that high and it's 2.9m from the boundary. I'm no expert just the customer. but I would, if it were me, make sure all the relevant departments sign off a planning app BEFORE granting. then all BC has to do is make sure I adhere to it rather than proposing changes after the fact. It's not rocket science it's just being efficient. I don't know why I'm writing this, efficiency and public sector doesn't go together.

Out of interest should BC not inform Conservation to make sure they are happy with the recommended changes. No ones talking to anyone here.

To clarify, the previous rejected submission was a stone structure. which was resubmitted as wood due to conservations objection.

Sponsored Links
As far as I understand it, if it's over 1m from the boundary then no fire resistance is required.

page 90 (PDF page not the document)

fire.jpg

Last edited:
@freddiemercurystwin This is all very confusing and I don't really understand what the OP is going on about but I'll throw in my tuppence worth.

I think the building inspector has raised the issue under regulation B3 fire resistance of the structure. Because the building is timber framed with timber cladding the external walls effectively form one large unprotected area, rather like having a massive window in an elevation close to the boundary. That is why the inspector is asking for 60 minutes fire resistance.