add consumer unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am looking to add an extra consumer unit to a recent house extension, what cable size is suitable

Sponsored Links
carrot as you do not know may i suggest you get a professional in to do it for you.

some jobs are NOT for the diy person, this is one of them

Sponsored Links
To do what? (the obvious electrics, but a little more info)

what do you mean get a professional to do it, I replaced mine last week with a larger unit. Okay i'm not an electrician but would say I'm electrically minded, it was dead easy you just need a bit of common sence and a good memory or diagram to remember what circuit goes where. And don't forget to remove the main house fuse but if you are a little worried the local electrical authority may stamp on you for doing this go buy yourself a nice pair of marigolds (only joking)

Zoltron - I could change the water pump or cam belt in my car.......could a mechanic pick fault.....er.......yes.

We work atleast 40 hours a week with lecky, A diyer can do most things, but I bet all sparks here could pick holes.

Installing a cable to another board requires consideration.

-What is the earthing arrangements?
-What is the anticipated maximum demand?
-How far is the cable run?
-Will the cable need derating due to installation methods?

Once you have answered these, you can select a cable, taking into account the associated volt drop for the run of cable, and ensure it is within the limits for the distribution cable AND final circuits.

You must then ensure than the earth fault loop impedance is of satisfactory value to insure disconnection of the overcurrent protective device protecting the sub-main cable. This impedance must also be low enough to ensure that final circuits can be wired in a conventional method (ie without having to increase the cable sizes on final circuits to lower the impedance).