1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding a second light switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Brett Parkin, 11 Sep 2020.

  1. Brett Parkin

    Brett Parkin

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My garage power is currently supplied via a 13A FCU from my living Room. The supply feeds a double socket in the garage which feeds a 3A FCU which acts as a light Switch. I’ve added another Double socket at the other end of the garage and put another light in series with the main light. My issue is can I add another switch to the FCU so I can operate the lights from both ends of the garage? Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would need to add 2 new 2 way switches

    and 3 core and earth cable between them
     
  4. Brett Parkin

    Brett Parkin

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers Andy. Best get on with it
     
  5. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would need to tape over the existing switch in the on position so it doesn’t get used.

    Or better, replace it with just a fused (non switched version) unit.
     
  6. Brett Parkin

    Brett Parkin

    Joined:
    11 Sep 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ll probably just leave it in the Switched on position and put the switch above it.
     
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,448
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • ***Moderators note*** Some unhelpful posts from our resident unhelpful poster have been removed (again)
    Mains voltage lights usually are wired in parallel, not in series.
    (I think you know how it’s done but you’ve inadvertently used the wrong word).
    Almost everybody is quite happy with this, as it doesn’t make a material difference to us helping you find a solution. Almost everybody except for Windston come ban. He wants everyone to use exactly the correct term and has great delight in belittling anyone who doesn’t. I suppose it’s fair enough, because our friend is perfect and knows everything.
    (Rant over)
    PS
    It’s Christmas tree lights that are often wired in series, that’s why they all go out if one lamp pops.
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page