Adding additional switch+light to existing 2 way circuit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to wiring so hoping someone may be able to help me.

I have a light in my lounge that is 2 way with another switch in my hall. I am adding a new light to my lounge where the intention was originally to just replace the original light with the new light using the existing wiring/switch which is not too far away. I am hoping now instead to change the existing switch in the lounge to a 2 gang, using the power from the existing circuit to then wire to the additional light (meaning I have the two lights working independent from each other with the existing light being 2 way and the new light 1 way). Is this something that will be possible? I wasn't sure if the fact that the existing light is 2 way complicates things?

I checked the wires in the existing switch and there are 2 reds, 1 black and the earth. There is also some form of junction box further down the wall which I presume is part of the lighting circuit.

Can anyone offer any guidance?

Sponsored Links
Is this something that will be possible?
Yes
I wasn't sure if the fact that the existing light is 2 way complicates things?
No it shouldn't, but you will need Live, earth and neutral for the new light to work, and the method of wiring will differ depending on the existing set up.
I checked the wires in the existing switch and there are 2 reds, 1 black and the earth.
How are they terminated at the switch
There is also some form of junction box further down the wall which I presume is part of the lighting circuit.
A picture would help
Can anyone offer any guidance?
Indeed we can!

Thank you for the very quick response PrenticeBoyofDerry. I will dig out the camera and take the necessary pictures etc in the morning.

Mark