Adding MagnaClean To Flow - Two Pipes On Return

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to get some wisdom from the forum elders here as I am doing bits and pieces around the house

I have an old boiler which I cannot afford to replace - It has one pipe from flow up behind some chimney and then two pipes return which are joined just before the green pump

With my June salary I will spend £140 to buy a new pump but for now I have bought a 28mm Magnaclean filter - I can only put it on the flow pipe from my thoughts - If anyone can suggest a better place on the return (which is where it should be) that would be very useful to know

If I put it on the return against the wall this will only cover part of the circut - What would you do - Magnaclean on single flow pipe or on part of the return

IMG_7075.jpg

Sponsored Links
I don’t think you need one. I’m no expert but when we had our system converted to a sealed system with vented hot water, we had a Potterton profile boiler which at the time was around 25 years old. They also changed the hot water cylinder, controls and the valves. I asked at the time whether it was worth putting a magnetic filter in at the same time and they said no, not with an old boiler with a cast iron heat exchanger but that I should think about getting one if I ever changed the boiler for a modern one. I did do that a few years later when we had a new boiler.

Re-pipe it so that the return join is further away from the pump so that you fit the filter in.

They are supposedly fitted to the return to protect the boiler, but no filter catches everything first pass, so especially with an older boiler, it really won't matter on the flow.

Sponsored Links
If push comes to a shove, I would instal the filter on the radiator return pipe

Why are you fitting a filter in the first place, is the system dirty, is there something that is driving you to fit one? Also, why are you replacing the pump?