1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding socket into cupboard

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by scottpetrie, 29 Jul 2021.

  1. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    Im fitting a shower pump into my airing cupboard but need a plug socket in there. I have a socket just 3 feet away in the hallway and was hoping I could spur off of that. If thats possible, what am I looking for to know it will be okay?
    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Tigercubrider

    Tigercubrider

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2016
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am no electrician but rather than spurring, it's not massively harder to make it into a ring extension?
    Unless it's already a "spur off a spur"?

    does a shower pump take a big load?
     
  4. sparkwright

    sparkwright

    Joined:
    20 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    8,753
    Thanks Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there no wiring already in the airing cupboard? One would expect immersion wiring or something to be there.
     
  5. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeh the hot water tank and old immersion is in there
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,390
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Connect it via an FCU to the immersion switch.
     
  7. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So connect it into the wiring board thats on the wall, then to an FCU?
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,390
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Depends what the wiring board is?

    Is there not a switch for the immersion?
     
  9. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wiring comes out of immersion at top of tank then into the wall through an unswitched flex outlet. The actual switch for the immersion is in the kitchen.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,143
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Show us a pic of the wiring at the socket that you intend to spur from,turn the power off beforehand. And tell us what protects the circuit that it is on ,fuse rating or MCB rating
     
  12. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here is the hallway socket. The fuse in the cupboard for that circuit is 30A. C05E318F-7BEF-42F6-9B76-F99A5D7E9A81.jpeg
     
  13. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    6,143
    Thanks Received:
    1,271
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would appear to be a ring final circuit then.You would need to check at that socket that it is actually an integral part of the ring ,and if it is ,you can take a spur from it.
    It could be a spur ,feeding another spur, but that's probably unlikely. You need to test to establish.
     
  14. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,527
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can spur off that. Use an FCU with a 5amp fuse in it.

    PS. there’s some discolouration on the live (red) wires. May be loose terminals. Check the tightness of all connections.
     
  15. scottpetrie

    scottpetrie

    Joined:
    16 May 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay thanks. So can I remove plug from shower pump and wire it into a switched FCU with a flex outlet or. Yeh that discolouration shows up worse in the picture. It was just that the wire had been stripped back to much. Sorted now
     
  16. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,527
    Thanks Received:
    2,132
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. Chop the plug off. Use the fuse in the pump plug in the FCU.
     
  17. 333rocky333

    333rocky333

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,417
    Thanks Received:
    902
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A new socket would have required Rcd protection whereas a FCU in most cases does not.
    Looking at the Solid Green sleeving and mention of 30Amp Fuses its likely your circuit does not have any existing.
     
Loading...

Share This Page