Adding socket into cupboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
Im fitting a shower pump into my airing cupboard but need a plug socket in there. I have a socket just 3 feet away in the hallway and was hoping I could spur off of that. If thats possible, what am I looking for to know it will be okay?
Thanks

Sponsored Links
I am no electrician but rather than spurring, it's not massively harder to make it into a ring extension?
Unless it's already a "spur off a spur"?

does a shower pump take a big load?

Is there no wiring already in the airing cupboard? One would expect immersion wiring or something to be there.

Sponsored Links
The wiring comes out of immersion at top of tank then into the wall through an unswitched flex outlet. The actual switch for the immersion is in the kitchen.

Hi
Im fitting a shower pump into my airing cupboard but need a plug socket in there. I have a socket just 3 feet away in the hallway and was hoping I could spur off of that. If thats possible, what am I looking for to know it will be okay?
Thanks
Show us a pic of the wiring at the socket that you intend to spur from,turn the power off beforehand. And tell us what protects the circuit that it is on ,fuse rating or MCB rating

Here is the hallway socket. The fuse in the cupboard for that circuit is 30A.
C05E318F-7BEF-42F6-9B76-F99A5D7E9A81.jpeg

Would appear to be a ring final circuit then.You would need to check at that socket that it is actually an integral part of the ring ,and if it is ,you can take a spur from it.
It could be a spur ,feeding another spur, but that's probably unlikely. You need to test to establish.

Yes you can spur off that. Use an FCU with a 5amp fuse in it.

PS. there’s some discolouration on the live (red) wires. May be loose terminals. Check the tightness of all connections.