1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Additional sockets in garage, fused spur beside Consumer Unit?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by siross85, 12 Feb 2021.

  1. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all.

    I want to change the layout in my garage which means moving my freezers to the other side of the room where there are no sockets. The easiest way for me to add power to where it's needed (in my opinion) is to create a fused spur to feed 2x double sockets.

    All this seems simple enough and would be easy if I could get to the wires easily but they leave the consumer unit and go in to the wall and only resurface on the other side where the sockets are.

    So I think the best way to do it is to take the face off the consumer unit, identify the existing garage cable, cut in to it, terminate in to 30a junction box and then to a 13a fused spur.

    All of this will be done with 2.5mm t&e in round conduit and surface mounted plastic pattress boxes (made for 20mm conduit).

    My questions then are:

    1. Is this the best way to do it, without it becoming a notifiable job and therefore done by an electrician?
    2. The first socket will be used to power a full length freezer and a fridge/freezer. I've tried to look at the specific models but can't find any definitve information on ampage draw. I believe they will draw a fair amount at start up surge and then quite a low amount continuously. The second socket was mainly for futureproofing and ease really. There are no plans to plug anything permanent in. Is the proposed approach suitable for the amount of draw?
    3. Presumably if the proposed approach isn't suitable for the draw the I would have to upgrade the cable to 4mm t&e? Is it good practice or even safe to use 4mm t&e spur from a 2.5mm ring?
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,419
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to cut into the cable, just connect another cable to the same terminals.

    Depending on the circuit design, it may be possible to add more than one socket without the need to fuse down.

    Is it a radial or a ring final?

    What size is the cable/ MCB?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply.

    It's a ring final, assuming there aren't two radials running from the same MCB.

    The cable is 2.5 T&E and the MCB is 16a for the garage.
     
  5. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,585
    Thanks Received:
    505
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No point in having a ring on a 16 amp MCB. You don't need a FCU either. Just connect your new sockets direct to the MCB.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Presumably that literally entails adding a new live/neutral and earth to the corresponding parts of the consumer unit that are associated with the garage circuit. So instead of 2 wires in each there will be 3?
     
  7. SUNRAY

    SUNRAY

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2009
    Messages:
    4,771
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes correct.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Just checking whether that is notifiable or not?

    Also, in order to add more than one socket should I start with a 13a fused spur as it will be a radial / spur or is this not required when coming straight off the MCB?
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,067
    Thanks Received:
    4,032
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Not notifiable.

    FCU not required with a 16A MCB.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice one!
     
  12. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,051
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And with your 16A MCB protecting the cable you can daisychain as many 13A sockets on it as you like.Installation tip- 2.5mm t & e will be no fun through 20mm conduit unless you can avoid using elbows and boxes. Use singles or just clip the t & e on the surface
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the advice. I did wonder about conduit, is it safe enough in a garage to just have it clipped to a wall?

    Whilst I'm on the subject I may need to run some outside at some point, what conduit would you recommend for 2.5mm t&e?
     
  14. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,051
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends what you're doing in your garage. If you're chucking heavy bits of metal around then placcie conduit isn't very strong (better than t & e at resisting nicks from garden tools), if its more utility room than workshop surface t & e is fine. Is there an RCD on the circuit anywhere- (if garage is fed from house cu it may be on an RCD there)- one will be required for your new sockets (and no an RCD socket is not acceptable).
    Outside wiring- use 3 core flex if its clipped to a wall outside, T & E or singles in tube are ok if you're just going through the wall and straight into the back of your socket.
    EDIT T & E isn't really suitable for conduit full stop. Ideally you'd use proper galvanised or black steel tube, all threaded nicely, with singles.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    70,938
    Thanks Received:
    4,017
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Mini-trunking is thicker and more resistant to knocks.

    Also much easier to use.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. siross85

    siross85

    Joined:
    21 Jan 2012
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the garage it will be used on the side of the garage which will be for household storage and fridge/freezers. It's also the side the consumer unit and solar panel installation is so it won't be subject to any bangs or tools etc.

    In terms of RCD, it's got one in the consumer unit yes.

    Thanks for the advice re outside cabling. It will be to introduce a new socket off an existing socket outside. The existing socket is on a 13a fused spur inside. The cable will be at head height clipped to a wall so won't have any risk of damage. It's more precaution and UV protection I was thinking of?

    Edit: I do have some pond cable left over from another install but it's only 0.75mm flex so presumably that's not adequate for an external socket with 2 x 13a loads (potentially)
     
  17. oldbutnotdead

    oldbutnotdead

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    4,051
    Thanks Received:
    820
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, 0.75 won't do it. 1.5 white 3 core flex will be fine with that FCU protecting it, make sure you gland the cabling properly & leave drip loopd
     
Loading...

Share This Page