Advice please, on Barrier Pipe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
:confused: Hi Advice please, on Barrier Pipe.

I need to run 22mm plastic pipe to a new shower valve, basin and bath.

The boiler is a combi Alpha CB28 - the old bath had a shower connection and the shower worked ok.

I've now ripped out the bath and need to connect the old pipework to new pipework for new bathroom, which is 12 metres away.
I've never used barrier pipe before. The floor is concrete.

The 12 metre run (X 2 Hot/Cold), has a lot of twists and turns.

MY QUESTIONS

1) Will 22mm pipe be flexible enough to be clipped to the wall, and follow the 90 degree bends around the walls?

The pipework will all be boxed in, so it doesn't matter if the pipe sticks out a bit on the corners.
If I can't do this, then I'm looking at 20 elbows.

2)What is the best pipe/fittings to go for - which will cause less possible leaks?

I like the look of JG Speedfit because you can remove the pipe from fittings with ease,
but should I be going for the grey stuff, Polyplumb (Wickes) - I see that the fittings are a lot
cheaper, is that because you can't get the pipe back out once it's in?

3)With a combi boiler in mind - can I use PEX or PB pipe - or should it just be one in particular?

4)What is the best fitting to use with copper pipe. I don't fancy having plastic going to the basin,
or the shower valve, I want to come of plastic into 15mm copper.
Would it be Speedfit or Polyplumb?

Many thanks in advance.
Stephen

Sponsored Links
Will 22mm pipe be flexible enough to be clipped to the wall, and follow the 90 degree bends
around the walls?

You don't need 22, 15 will be fine.

What is the best pipe/fittings to go for - which will cause less possible leaks?

I use polyplumb whenever I use plastic. More important is to use it as intended.

With a combi boiler in mind - can I use PEX or PB pipe - or should it just be one in particular?