Advice requested on pointing paths

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello again
Having just finished another deck with advice from members I am now moving on to the next phase - a small artificial lawn.

I have laid paths on three sides using Marshalls Saxon Mocha, however I did not point them at the time.

The main path has been down more than a year and the small paths a couple of months.

I think I should now point them before laying the lawn and, as I have never done this before I need some advice please. I built stone walls and pointed using Hanson Mortar but i felt it was a bit sandy/crumbly so not sure if I should use for the paths.

I have read here about stuff like easipoint - but how easy is it really?

The mortar gaps are 7-10mm. Here are some pictures --

The Main Path

Path 2

Path 3
[/img]

My questions are

1 What should I use? Hanson Mortar, sand cement, commercial product. Wet or dry.

2 How do I do it? Trowel, gun etc.

3 How do I avoid overspill (mess)? I thought about masking the slabs :oops: .

Any advice very much appreciated.

Thank you
Jim

Sponsored Links
I use about 4 or 5 to 1 sand cement.

I always do it wet, dry has no strength when it sets and it just cracks and things grow in it.

I stick a good lot of plasticiser in my mix 'cos it tends to take a while to use the whole mix.

I do use a fairly dry wet mix tho, if that makes sense.

I use a small pointing trowel, but your 7mm gaps are pretty small so it won't be that easy.

I let it dry until it's getting crumbly and then use a length of 15 or 22 waterpipe to finish it.

Then I just brush it up with good soft brush. I've no idea what the finish on those flags is like so can't say much about staining etc, but I find if my mix is nice and firm in the first place then there's usually no soak into surrounding flags.

Thanks for your clear reply, keefersUK.

Failing any alternative suggestions I'll follow your method. Can you recommend a plasticiser?