Am I being taken for a ride with the UFH quote?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had a quote from Nu Heat for a supply only UFH system. There's 78m2 of castellated trays, pipes and screed for down stairs, 60m2 of polystyrene under floor trays and pipes for upstairs. Manifolds, wiring centres, the whole thing. The first red flag is that they've quoted for 12 thermostats. Hall, landing, downstairs WC and utility all get one each. That strikes me as massive up selling. The second is the £12k price tag. I've spent an hour pricing up the parts and have not quite reached half the quoted figure. That leaves £6k+ as their design and sign off fee. It took me a day to learn how to do the calculations, and to estimate heat loss in each room and the required flow temperature on a cold night. (I'm an engineer in a different field) I'd imagine their guy would take a day to inspect and sign off.

For reference, the house is a '70s 4 bed detached. Solid asphalted concrete floors, 50mm cavity wall insulation, loft insulation to a U value of 0.13. Average double glazing. This is the first quote in. We're still waiting to hear back from a second. Nowhere else has answered their phone so far.

Is this a fair price for what they're offering or is my suspicion right that they're trying it on a bit?

Sponsored Links
They must have assumed that each room is an individual zone hence why there are 12 thermostats. This is something that will be in the design so you need to discuss this with them if you want less zones to control.

Sponsored Links
And installation?

Edit:

Oh

Fark me. Hang on while I look up what I paid..
They say they're geared up to supply DIYers and plumbers who don't know UFH. They send installation instructions aimed at the DIYer, including the exact layout of the pipes.