Angle grinder recommendations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm currently building a brick wall (standard stock bricks) and will be relaying our patio (approx. 2inch thick slabs). Has anyone got any recommendations for suitable cutting tools?

I'm looking at buying either a 115mm or 230mm grinder and am unsure which size to go for. The current front runner is a Wolf 230mm:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wolf-230mm-...KQ66/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1346747344&sr=8-1

...I should point out that I've never used an angle grinder before though.

All advice welcome!

Sponsored Links
If you are cutting slabs, then you really want a 230mm cutter not the smaller one.

Be very careful if you have not used one, as they snatch and twist and can catch you unawares

Get one with a soft start if you can. And a long lead

MOST IMPORTANT-- go for the right diamond blade.
Dont go for cheapo blades- they wear our quickly and get overheated and wobble about-- so dangerous.
Go for Marcrist blades every time --they are the best.
Yes- they cost more- but they do the job better, quicker and most of all are safer to use.

I use diamond blades of all sizes every day and know what I am talking about .

There are plenty of good blades around and I'm sure the one supplied will be fine for his needs.

Sponsored Links
There are plenty of good blades around and I'm sure the one supplied will be fine for his needs.

Maybe it will- maybe it wont.
I knew a guy on crutches for over a year who had a blade that he thought would be right.
He was a penny pincher.

I dont believe on compromising on safety at all.
Buy British and be safe .
I cannot stress it enough

We use the cheapest diamond blades available for the cutquicks. Don't see a lot of benefit with an expensive one wear wise.
We go through about a dozen 12" discs per year. We believe in compromising on safety, though in this case its not an issue.

Get a 230mm for sure and as said above a diamond disk, stone disks just wear far to quickly.