Another summer house question..... or 10

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, i am after some of your valuable knowledge please.

I am about to erect a summer house and wish to add power.

A few points that i think useful:

1. The summer house is approximately 5m from the garage, which has power. the power is fed in what i believe to be 6mm swa to the house.

2. The house is approximately 75m from the garage.

3. I want 5 double sockets. for minimal usage (phone chargers, small tv, small fridge freezer.

4. I want a 2kW wall heater (no decision as to type yet)

5. 4 lights internally, operated by two switches for two lights each.

6. A couple of outside lights - probably eco bulb type, not floodlights!

Now, i am not an electrician, but have plenty of experience in installation etc, but i want to save as much money as possible. I am more than happy to get it approved and tested professionally, but feel that i can do the bulk myself with a little guidance (your part?) please.

I would love some guidance on the best way to do this. I cannot bury the 5m of cable from the garage to the summerhouse, so it will be on a raised post and rail between the two, specifically for the cable.

the garage is feeding a socket and a light internally. Some outside lights in the garden which i believe to be 4mm swa are also fed from the garage.

I want this to be professionally signed off at the end of it, but the calcs etc for what i need to do for the new, and maybe upgrade to the old is the main issue for me.

Final q, is it nessary to be a ring main in a single room? can i run one way round the room from the main board and also then run the other? if that makes sense.

oh, i should say, that i want to run the power from the garage rather than a new feed back to the house:)

Thanks all for your time in advance.

Keith

Incoming supply
IMG_0319.jpg

Incoming earth
IMG_0320.jpg

Main board in house
IMG_0322.jpg

Garage board
IMG_0323.jpg

IMG_0324.jpg

Sponsored Links