Any experience with Electric Radiators?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm wondering if anyone is using electric radiators at the moment, we have a small holiday home which is being renovated and we plan to have a new heating system fitted. The rooms aren't very big and a friend mentioned they had changed to an electric heating system, saying they they are more controllable & economical, no pipes etc.. Are they really as effective as gas central heating? I'm a bit of novice in this area, so any advice on general running costs would be great.

Sponsored Links
I had a few some years back and they were great! Individual controls on each.

Depends how much/how often you want the place heated. Electric heaters are good for occasional short bursts in 1 or 2 rooms. Gas is currently 4p/kwh (on mains, bottled is dearer), electricity generally 4 times that so the more heat you use, the faster your increased running costs will outweigh the capital savings. Consider ashp, grant & subsidy might make it viable

I'm a bit of novice in this area, so any advice on general running costs would be great.

Compared to gas central heating, Kw for Kw electric heating to the same temperature will cost you four times as much to actaully run. The big advantage of conventional electric is it is just plug in and go.

Sponsored Links
Central heating is as the name implies a central unit heating the whole home, electric heaters are not central heating, they are individual heaters, and in some cases that can be better, we spend a lot of money trying to control rooms individually with central heating systems, programmable TRV (thermostat radiator valve) heads for example, and with this house with 14 areas to heat and a wifi linked TRV head costing £50 one can spend £1000 on the control system, so selecting heating as an when required may be a better option.

In the main I go on holiday in the summer, so don't use heating much, so depends when the home is used and how often.