Appliance Sockets???

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone... I'm a apprentice trained Maintenance electrician and at present I'm working on the railway doing the signalling.. So I know electrical safety etc..
But?? I know very little about the whole domestic/house electrics.
So.. Maybe somebody can give me some advice..

I'm re-fitting my kitchen and nearly all the socket positions require changing, so I need to know..

Firstly:
If the sockets for the appliances are going to be hidden behind the cabinits.
Do I need to fit FCU's on view above the work tops???

Also. If I do, how do I get around the fact that the sockets (2 off) are both doubles and I need at least 3 outlets???

Cheers.. Digs..

Sponsored Links
Since this is Part P notifiable , you need to contact a competent person (possibly someone who has just done a 6 week course) or notify the buliding control office at your local council.
I could not possibly help as I am deemed incompetent having only 20 years expeience with loads of qualifications and working for the largest council in the country inspecting public buildings. hope you solve the problem

Digs said:
Firstly:

You can use FCU's but if you use 20amp DP grid switches they come pre labeled, i.e dishwasher, fridge, freezer etc. You can also fit one grid switch to cover most of your appliances, i.e 1, 2, or 3 gang grid switch

Also. If I do, how do I get around the fact that the sockets (2 off) are both doubles and I need at least 3 outlets???

Could you elaborate on the second part?

pdcelec said:
I could not possibly help as I am deemed incompetent having only 20 years expeience with loads of qualifications and working for the largest council in the country inspecting public buildings. hope you solve the problem