Are these drain pipes old clay? Would you change them if you were me?

You should have ventilation somewhere. Hopefully your soil stack has a vent at the top of your house. If so then the chamber vent is redundant, as it can vent through the inlet pipe.

Sponsored Links
You should have ventilation somewhere. Hopefully your soil stack has a vent at the top of your house. If so then the chamber vent is redundant, as it can vent through the inlet pipe.
I'm no expert here as I've only just discovered these exist. However, with a bung and a trap in the outlet to the chamber, isn't the vent necessary to stop the chamber becoming pressurized in any way and holding the flow back? Without chamber ventilation the flow in will be restricted by the speed/capacity through the trap?

i.e. a slug of water and other stuff from a toilet will be coming down the pipe and the air pushed ahead of it has to go somewhere. Without a vent it would be trying to blow through the interceptor trap.

The inlet pipe will vent the chamber. It will provide a straight-through route for air to enter or leave, as it does in every chamber without a Victorian ground level vent.

Provided of course that it does have a vent. Which it should, otherwise the toilet and/or basin wastes would frequently end up half-empty after flushing.

Sponsored Links
My guess is that the top pipe was originally installed for ventilation, but (obviously) could be used for other things.
I reckon you've got a Buchan Trap (
Buchan Hell - when they block - need a power flushing machine - looks fine now though. Top pipe is an air inlet.

Most of the valves on the manhole vents aren't in working order now, as the Mica flaps have seized up.