Are you allowed to have a boiler in a bathroom?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm planning a loft conversion and as part of this I'd like to move the combi-boiler from our kitchen into the converted loft space, possibly in the new ensuite that would be created. This would also be easier to connect up the pipework for the heating and water supply.

Just want to know if there are any regs that would mean that halfway through the project it can't be done.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
I'm not a heating engineer but I can't see why not as long as all the electrics are in a cupboard possibly and not where steam/condensation can get into them but one thing I will say is that a mate of mine has his combi boiler in his loft and it takes an absolute age for the hot water to reach the kitchen and ground floor loo taps. They usually wash in cold water or boil the kettle!

Yes, fine as long as all the electrical bits are suitably IP rated, and preferably have it in a cupboard. Some boilers are IP rated so don't actually technically need to be in a cupboard but it's always best if they are

I'm not a heating engineer but I can't see why not as long as all the electrics are in a cupboard possibly and not where steam/condensation can get into them but one thing I will say is that a mate of mine has his combi boiler in his loft and it takes an absolute age for the hot water to reach the kitchen and ground floor loo taps. They usually wash in cold water or boil the kettle!
That's interesting. Thanks.

Any plumbers able to comment on how that could be overcome?

Sponsored Links
Any plumbers able to comment on how that could be overcome

Common sense suggests having a store of hot water as close as possible to the place it will be used will reduce waste.

Waste of water while waiting for hot water to reach the tap.

Waste of heat as hot water in the pipe cools after the tap is turned off.