Atkinson Tankmaster Valve servicing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our heating oil tank has an Atkinson Tankmaster valve and sight gauge fitted. We noticed a while back that the valve shut-off wheel does not seem to completely switch-off the supply; it just keeps turning, so seems to have come adrift somewhere. We are running down the oil level at the moment as the tank itself need some attention - wrong time of the year I know, but needs must.

Had a look at replacement valves but they are around £50. This seems a very basic valve arrangement and wondered if they can be DIY serviced? Any advice appreciated, before we splash out on a complete new valve!

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
I have an Atkinson Tankmaster series 2 like yours.When mine is screwed fully clockwise it appears to be open (the nut then spins) . When it is screwed fully anticlockwise it appears to be shut .(it does not then spin.) The strange thing is , to stop the oil draining out when cleaning the filter i find it has to be turned clockwise.Does any of this make sense ?

I need to change my filter and have noticed the same thing with the valve shut off wheel.

Can anyone advise the correct way to turn it to shut the oil supply off?

Thanks

Spin the valve wheel till it goes slack/loose. In this position the oil is off.Tighten up but not too much (just get some tension on the valve) to open the valve up and allow oil through again. Try it with the filter off and a container to catch the oil so you can see how much to open the valve.
STIX

Sponsored Links
Bit harsh Mod9, Atkinson weren't suggesting anybody actually buys their products as far as I could see, they were just helpfully directing members to some fitting instructions and technical specs.

Ah, I missed the signature. The post was really quite helpful though.