Basic tools and drills needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
Apologies if this has been covered before. I've never used a drill before! Just bought my first Edwardian house.
It has been extended so the walls are a mix of:
- Brick walls
- Fake/wooden walls
- Walls with insulation (I was told hollow wall anchors need to be used in this case)
My questions are:
- How many drills (and other tools) do I need to buy for removing and putting screwdrivers in and other basic things? (cordless drill, hammer drill, etc...)
- Stud finder (probably?)
- How do I know if the wall I am digging through is insulated wall or not and what difference will it make when drilling.
Thanks and sorry if the question is too general!

Sponsored Links
just a DIYer

i would get a kit , probably cordless , a combi drill and a impact driver - Buy once , sounds like you may be doing a bit of DIY
something like Dewalt, Mikita , maybe a few other makes to consider - BUT - once you get a cordless system you tend to stay with same brand just because the batteries are then interchangeable , so you want a brand that has a lot of bare tools you can build up on

I happen to have cordless Dewalt , best thing i did go cordless

maybe somethign like https://www.screwfix.com/p/dewalt-d...AQ5SH_znizH_c48chHoaAsBjEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds
BUT , i prefer the impact driver with 3 speed settings - use them all the time
heres a 3 speed impact driver https://www.screwfix.com/p/dewalt-d...r-brushless-cordless-impact-driver-bare/551fu
as i say i use the different settings a lot for different jobs , i put up a fence against a small brickwall and used coach bolts through the wall and the 3rd speed on the impact driver made sure the nut was done up and pulled the tags of the coach bolt through.
Speed 1 on delicate wood , with a counter sink so the screw is not damaged or driven into the wood

often you will see deals