Bathroom fan rules.

A

Alltheones

I’m a electrician although it’s been a few years since I worked in the uk and I’m looking at cabling a bathroom fan in my extension I just want to get it right for the test the council is doing when I’m done.

I used to have to put the whole bathroom on a fused spur with a 3a then a fan isolator. The fan needs to run on a timer.

I really really don’t want a fused spur i don’t really want the isolator either, which is why I’m asking if it’s actually in the regs.

Can I get a fan that will be fine on the 6a lighting breaker?
Does the fan isolator have to be at roof height, can it be dropped to socket height so it won’t be seen in my room?
Again I don’t need to know how to cable this I’m just after any regs that might trip me up over this, I can about handle a fan switch near the ceiling but not that and a spur as I’m having a feature bulkhead and it will kind of ruin it.

Sponsored Links
The rules are down loadable from a portal in Parts, not sure think part F? They do vary a little between Scotland, Wales, and England, with some requirements changing over the years, but if you have an opening window where people can look in when open, then no fan required.

There has never been a requirement for it to work with lights, a simple pneumatic timing switch is enough, think from memory 15 minutes run on, at one point if non opening window you had to be able to run fan without lights, but that requirement I think dropped, but may vary country to country.