Becoming A Qualified Tiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
For the last eight years I have been employed in telephone banking taking a rather secondary role to my wife the bread winner whilst I helped bring up our children. However I will now be officially redundent at the end of the month due to our department closing. Anyway I have always been quite good with my hands and umd and argh'd between carpentry and tiling, and decided tiling is for me. Now I have very little experience of tiling other than some basic splash backs at home in the bathroom, and as such need training. The only place anywhere near me that can offer an intensive course are these people http://www.ableskills.co.uk/tiling.htm I would be doing their 6 week intensive course which includes an ICA Tiling level 2 qualification and a card that allows you to work on site. Does anyone have any opinions on these types of course and the qualifications gained. Finnally anyone want to offer me work experience or an aprentiship local to Clacton/Colchester in Essex.

Thanks
Jeremy

Sponsored Links
Be warned, tiling plays havoc with your knees - this was a contributing factor in me packing in tiling for a living.
I think you'll struggle to find a tiler that would be willing to take you on with the intention of training you so that you can go off and start a business that would compete with his.
Sorry, I can't advise on tiling courses but wish you all the best if you decide to go for it.

agree totally with gcol, if you go to work for a tiling firm / one man band, do not tell him your intentions, you wont get in the door, as for the courses they are a good insight to how to start, my mate did one, but like anything you dont learn till on the job and you will need help, i know a cpl people who went on the courses then spent a hell of a lot of money on equipment as the courses are designed for you to pass so they keep you happy and have you 4 or 500 quid.