Becoming a Tiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I know that places offer courses in tiling would this be the best place to start if i want to become self employed? I am quite handy with DIY and see tiling as an opportunity to work for myself on the side evenings and weekends until i have enough business to hopfully go full time. I also have started an import business which will support the transition and possibly eventually take over, but i need to be out of the classroom to take phonecalls and send packages etc.

I am about to buy a van to deal with the imports,n but could also easily use this for tiling.

Your help and advice would be appreciated. I have done some tiling in the past but would think that a crash course would give me a firm grounding to branch out.

Thanks
Andy

Sponsored Links
I am an apprentice plumber, now in my 3rd year and I think a tiling career sounds good mate!

I am starting a course in the winter doing tiling, this is at night, just to help me when I start my own company :)

Hi Andy
I have done a few tiling courses in my time, i did a week floor and wall tiling at the builders training center in east croydon.. which was ok for a bit of diy but did not really cover enough to prepare me for a career.

I then did a six week course at a place called abacus in luton which i booked through a company called move on training. Abacus went bust after two weeks, and move on training would not give me my money back! Fortunately I had paid through barcalaycard, and they refunded me four weeks worth of money under breach of contract. So i could not reccomend anything to do with move on training - avoid them like the plague!!.

Finally i struck lucky with the master tiling school in Ilford. (tilingschool.com)