Becoming a sparky...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys,

Im all new to this, as you can guess I'm looking for advice on becoming an electrician...

At the moment, im seriously stuck in a dead end job, and I really need to get out of the rat race and do something for myself.

Ive always been pretty practical, and always had a major interest in electrics & electronics. I studied Music Technology & Physics at college/uni, but since then ive floated my way through various random jobs...

I started a trainee position with my local council about 18months ago, training as a technical housing officer. I loved it, just what I wanted to do, but after 6 months training the council lost the funding for my job, and like many others I was made redundant. At the moment I have another council office job, but I need more.

Im really worried about the financial aspect of training, I appreciate it isn't going to be cheap, but id really appreciate some advice on the training costs, time frame etc.

My predicament is this...

Im a home owner, I have bills to pay and financial commitments, so giving up my income to train just isn't an option. Im 23, so as far as I know im too old to be an apprentice. And finally, im a woman!

I just really want to know what my options are? Do night courses exist in this field? Just abit of direction would be great, even if its just to tell me its a bad idea and im being foolish!!

Thanks in advance guys!

Sponsored Links
sparky = 2 years of college at 1 day and 1 night each week, or 3 years at 3 nights a week ( about 9-12 hours of lessons a week.. )..

this gives you the knowledge but not the practical experience.. for that you need to work as a "mate" for a couple of years, then an "improver" for a few more as you learn the trade.

after the initial college, there's the testing course and the regs course ( which you have to re-take every so often when they update the regs.. ).