Becoming an electrician - advice?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello. I am a 30 year old physicist who is thinking of a career change.

Any help, advice and suggestion you can make (whether new or experienced in the trade) would be very much appreciated.

Having worked with loads of high voltage equipment in my current job and having enjoyed electrical work in my own home (now forbidden due to part P), I'm strongly considering becoming an electrician and ultimately being my own boss etc.

I am willing to work hard and am always dedicated to perfect completion of everything I do, but rate time with my family more highly than anything else (I realise that this could ultimately put a cap on potential earnings).

1) Do you enjoy your work?
2) Does it pay your bills and allow you to live a little?
3) What sort of salary could I expect as a newly qualified spark and then ultimately as an independent?
4) Are jobs (and work for the independent guy) abundant?
5) I'm hoping to sit the C&G 2381 and 2391 in the summer, but is there anything else I should aim for (looking for Part P competency and to be a good electrician)?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Sponsored Links
I do not want to answer your questions other than say plenty of electricians would probably wish they were physicists. It sounds like a case of green grass & I honestly think you would be making a decision you would regret in years to come. If you have worked to become qualified in your field I think the novelty of being an electrician would soon wear thin. While your plans for being self employed are applaudable I do not think you would acheive your goals of quality time etc. in fact quite the reverse.If this has not put you off then I wish you the best of luck in your future venture