Best way to wire surround sound + best cable?

mo2

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In the range of lightswitches, sockets etc. there is a phono output plate but not a banana style connector plate. I have not had surround sound before, but I have a rough i dea of how it works. My plan is connect these plates(single phono connection wall plates) using high quality speaker cable to an amp. I will then use half a phono lead to connect the plate to the speaker. This is the problem, as I am not sure cutting a phono lead so that the flex can be scrwed into the speaker connections will work. WIll it? Any other suggesions or methods would be appreciated.

I realise this post is really badly worded(or perhaps the order of my points is a bit higgledy piggledy), but I am new to the world of surround sound and am slightly confused on how to do it

thanks ;)

does this stuff look good to you?

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/50m-2-COLOUR-...ameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem#ebayphotohosting

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
Is there a blank plate in the range you're looking at? You could adapt this with attachments

Sponsored Links
hi, thanks for the links - the springy ones(the first link) look the best. How would I saw or drill, holes for it. Also, I still prefer to but the phono connectors so what do you think of my cutting of the phono cable.

You can use phono plugs with other wire. I have seen phono plugs used with speaker wire before. The signals are pretty similar. Suppose you could use speaker wire (bell wire) and solder one half to the outer and one half to the middle. phono will give a better contact than spring clips.