blocked or frozen cold feed pipe??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I hope somebody will be able to help, the central heating at my grandmothers house has just stopped working, typical that it happens when its so cold! I believe it i an open vented system with a back boiler.

From reading a few threads my guess is that the feed pipe is blocked (or possibly frozen given that the fault coincided with the cold weather??)
as when I tried to bleed the radiators there was very little pressure in the system. I also have removed the pump bleed screw and no air or water came out. The pump appears to be running too, this gets hot but the pipes either side do not. I have also tried switching the 3 way valve to manual open but this had no effect. Of course I could be totally wrong as I'm a complete novice when it comes to central heating so any advice would be gratefully recieved!

THanks,

Dan

[/code]

Sponsored Links
Pipes are cold and the pump is hot :confused:

Unscrew the cap on the pump and gently stick a screwdriver in it, if it makes a rattling contact you know the pump is spinning

Hi, No I have not yet had the chance to go up in the loft yet so I have no idea if there is any water in the tank.

The pump is definately running, as suggeted I took the bleed screw out and the impeller shaft is spinning fine.

Sponsored Links
Pretty sure it must've been running dry earlier but I've turned it off now so hopefully no damage done!

Any ideas on how to tackle the problem? Sounds like a bit of a stupid question but if its frozen is it worth just waiting for it to thaw?

Thanks, sounds like a good idea for preventing the problem in the future but will it speed up the pipe thawing??

Sorry if I'm asking daft questions!

Dan

Be well worth checking that you havent any frozen pipes. Its when the thaw occurs the problems start. I've seen water coming through ceilings already this week....